Latest News

3rd April 2017

Media Release, Greater voice for Queenslanders through new water Panel

Greater voice for Queenslanders through new water Panel

Twelve Queenslanders have been appointed to provide independent advice to the Palaszczuk Government on issues arising from water planning processes.                            

Minister for State Development and Minister for Natural Resources and Mines Dr Anthony Lynham said he was looking forward to the specialist advice that the new Water Act Referral Panel will provide on the sustainable management of water in Queensland.

“The Water Act Referral Panel is independent and appointed every three years to provide advice to the minister and the department on water planning matters.

“With the draft Great Artesian Basin water plan, draft water management protocol and draft water entitlement notice released earlier this year, advising on public submissions on planning proposals could be the panel’s first task.

“The mix of experience we see in this new panel is different from previous years, with members now representing agriculture, natural resource management, resources, local government, regional and community development, conservation and the interests of Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

“I’m particularly pleased that the interests of North West Queensland will be given a voice with a representative from Mount Isa this year joining the panel, as well as representatives from Cardwell, Kingaroy, Rockhampton and Goondiwindi.

“I have always appreciated the frank and considered advice of the panel, as have DNRM, and I look forward to working with the new group to manage the sustainability of Queensland’s vital water resources,” Dr Lynham said.

Established under the Water Act 2000, the Queensland Water Act Referral Panel advises on issues such as:

  • changes to water entitlements held by water users
  • whether water entitlements are to be granted, amended or refused
  • rules for the operation of a water supply scheme
  • applications to vary the effect of a moratorium notice, and
  • applications to relocate a water licence.

“With six males and six females, the Water Act Referral Panel is an excellent example of how the Palaszczuk Government and Queensland is leading the way on gender parity and fulfils the target of having women as 50 per cent of all new board appointments to Queensland Government bodies,” Dr Lynham said.

While it is the Chief Executive Officer of DNRM who is responsible for appointing the panel, advice can be given to both the department and the minister on a range of issues.

For more information on the role of the Water Act Referral Panel or the Water Act 2000 visit


Media contact: Benjamin Mulcahy 0419 562 389


2017-2020 Water Act Referral Panel Members:



Ms Fiona Barron


Ms Leith Boully


Professor Allan Dale (James Cook University)

Cairns area

Mrs Cheryl Dalton

Kingaroy area

Ms Alison Dowling

Mount Isa

Mr Ian Johnson


Mr Bruce McCollum


Mr Richard James (Jim) Mobbs

Bundaberg area

Professor Steven Raine (University of Southern Queensland)


Mr Philip Rist


Ms Claire Rodgers


Professor Poh-Ling Tan (Griffith University)